Recycling in Japan

As part of their weekly speaking assessment, the students of Pre-Int B had to make PowerPoint presentations and talk about recycling in different countries around the world. Here’s Chitose and Charles’ presentation about recycling in Japan.

Recycle Shops

The most well- known chains are the shops selling books, electronics and hardware, furniture and home appliances, clothes. Another big second-hand chain, as is treasure factory selling mostly clothing and accessories. And there are lots of independent shops.

Reuse chopsticks

My Japanese friend told me about it.  Most Japanese people bring their own chopsticks when they go to eat out. There are many chopsticks in the restaurant. But they sometimes bring them. It isn’t good for the environment if they use chopsticks or spoon from the shop every time.

But Korea doesn’t have that culture. If we go to a restaurant, we use chopsticks and spoons provided by the restaurant. It is sometimes dirty so I feel a little icky. I think it is a good culture and more hygienic for people.

Reuse bottles

Empty bottles are recycled after cleaned and sterilized. Recycling is more economical and environmentally friendly than producing new bottles. If we bring empty bottles at the shop, we can get a little money for them. Another way is you can refill it with water or juice and take it along with you to drink whenever you’re thirsty.

App

This is a Japanese application. Using this, you can sell something and buy something. For example, you have some clothes that don’t use or didn’t wear a lot. You don’t need these clothes.

First, you take a photo of these clothes and you describe them. And then, you can decide the cost of your clothes. A few minutes later, your article will be posted on the app.

Someone can see the article, if someone feels like they are good clothes, they will buy them soon. And you can get some money but you can get money 80% of the initial cost. 20% of the cost is App Company’s money.

But it’s good for you and the environment!  I think this app is such a nice idea 😉

Eco bag

I think maybe everyone knows this bag. This is an eco bag. Probably, not only in Japan but also other countries use this bag. If you have this one you don’t need a plastic bag. It’s environmentally-friendly. Nowadays, many kinds of eco bags actually have very cute designs! Lastly, in my opinion, it is very important that everyone thinks about recycling even a little bit. We can do a lot to recycle anytime!

Chitose and Charles, Pre-Intermediate B

[embeddoc url=”https://cceb.edublogs.org/files/2016/12/RECYCLING-in-JAPAN-1mjrsay.pptx” download=”all” viewer=”microsoft”]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

2 thoughts on “Recycling in Japan

  1. Thank you for changed my mind! Before I read your post, I don’t know why, but I thought that because most of people in Japan have the ability to create something new, the last thing which they would do is Recycling. Now I’m more admired that I was before about the Japanese culture. Well done and congratulations!

  2. I’m Japanese but I don’t reuse chopsticks and I have never seen people having them…
    Sorry, could you please teach me where can I see this?
    However,the other things are true.
    I think this application is a good idea too because Japanese high school students are using this application to get money and get something!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *