Laetitia’s life story

One of our students, Laetitia from Switzerland, tells you her life story using a lot of phrasal verbs. Have a look at her PowerPoint presentation and read the description that follows below (phrasal verbs in bold print):

[embeddoc url=”https://cceb.edublogs.org/files/2017/01/Laetitia-Picture-story-1il8qlk.pptx” download=”all” viewer=”microsoft”]

Slide 1:

I would like to tell you my story. My story takes place a week before I left my country and it continues until now.

Slide 2:

Before I chose to travel, I worked. My work was to take care of the children. (to look after)

Slide 3:

My contract finished in December so I decided to travel by myself.

Slide 4:

One week before I left I had a disagreement with my friends. It wasn’t really important (=it was fighting over something trivial). (to fall out with sb)

Slide 5:

The same day this disagreement was sorted. (to make up)

Slide 6:

Now I miss my friends because we are really close. (to get on well with sb)

Slide 7:

On Thursday I left my home to go to the airport. At the airport I had to present myself and I had to give my backpack. (to check in)

Slide 8:

After I went to pass the security, I said goodbye to my mother. (to see sb off)

Slide 9:

At 8:30pm my flight left the airport and off I went to Australia! (to take off)

Slide 10:

On Saturday I arrived in Cairns and I was ready to learn English. (to pick up a language)

Slide 11:

I am ready to continue my story! (to carry on with the story)

Laetitia, Intermediate A

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *