Wild life or cage life

There is a lot of Flora and Fauna around us but sometimes these are in poor condition.

Major Mitchell’s Cockatoos (Lophocroa leadbeateri) live in the interiors of Australia. They are called “the most beautiful parrot in the world”. Maybe we can recognize them from their crest feathers and flight.

Major Mitchell’s Cockatoo (open crown).

The bird has beautiful colors and patterns. They sometimes attack us but they were also poached by humans (of course, other parrot species are the same).

We can sometimes see Red-tailed Cockatoos (Calyptorhynchus banksii) in Cairns. We think pet birds usually spend time alone or with some birds, but in the wild we realize they spend time in a small group or flock.

Wild life birds are usually so cautious. This photo was taken from a distance. However, the father watched us taking photos, and chick and mother are standing together. After this they flew away quickly.

We can go to a bird cage by transport in Cairns. We can watch and play with cute birds. And you can meet other rare species. However, I have seen behaviors, differ between caged birds and wild birds.

When I see caged animals, I sometimes feel a little sad. We live on the Earth with other life. What do you think?

 

Hitomi, Intermediate B

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

10 thoughts on “Wild life or cage life

  1. I actually have a cockatiel as a pet, you know Kisuke! He always makes me happy 😉 So I think I should make him happy. I miss him..

    1. Hi Manami.
      Thank you for commenting,
      I know and think that Kisuke is so cute, he is such as a happy bird!
      I also miss my companion animals…

  2. It’s a very difficult issue… I can’t answer this question but the most important thing is thinking about that. I’m also interested in birds because you always talk about them and I sometimes see birds in Cairns. When I went to Fitzroy Island, I saw a lot of birds which looked like the one Manami has!

    1. Thank you Yuya for commenting.
      I think so too. This is very difficult because we have some point of view and you don’t need to answer my questions.
      I’m so glad that you only think about it, because we should continue saving nature.
      I have never been to Fitzroy Island, however, I think the place is nice for birds.

  3. Hi Hitomi! Very interesting post like the last one about Cockatoos :). And of course beautiful pictures that you took.
    About this topic I think that the behavior of animals depends on their origin, for example, if a bird or another kind of animal was born and grew up in captivity, maybe it could be happy always in a comfortable cage; and if someone releases it back to nature, it couldn’t survive because it’s not accustomed to the wild life. But, if some animal was born and grew up in nature and then someone captures it, of course it will show a different behavior because it’s not normal for it; and sometimes that captured animals die because of stress.

    1. Hi, Abigail.
      Thank you for commenting and liking my photos.
      That’s right. We know that living things adapt to environment and their abilities will fade away if not used. They also learn things to survive. For example, some birds sing songs for courtship behavior and communication but they will not be able to do it if they lost their learning time. We collect animals and do research for species preservation. However, we should remember that if we collect animals, we might change something in their behavior. Some animals are very delicate. I have sometimes watched a parrot die when a technician immobilized it. And parrots have mental problems even if there has been a change in the color of the curtains. What can we do for animals?

  4. I don’t know many types of birds and I don’t like pigeons because when I was a child I fed pigeons in the park and they were coming too close to me so!! Ever since I don’t like animals with wings.
    But these birds are pretty good. They have beautiful colors and cute faces.I wanna collect pictures will then.

    1. Hi, Emi.
      Thank you for commenting. I have some friends who hate birds and some other animals. I don’t mind it (If they hate and think of killing animals, it is another matter). I know that there people that cry if they only see feathers.
      If you like parrots, you can enjoy collecting photos. At the same time, you find out some information about them and I will be so glad.

  5. Wow, these pictures are so beautiful! You’re so lucky, I wish I could study somewhere where the nature is so beautiful! I’ve never even been to Australia, I’d love to but travel is so expensive.
    I agree with you that it’s a shame to put animals in cages, but sometimes it’s animals that wouldn’t survive in the wild, if their habitat was destroyed for example.

    1. Hi, Hannah.
      Thank you for commenting on my topic and liking my photos. I’m studying about Parrots now.
      I’m so lucky that I can continue my studies about parrots which is difficult for me because I need a lot of money but I can study now. Parrots don’t live in my country (there are parrots which have gone wild) because if I want to study at the field, I need go to another country.
      Do you know the movie “Rio”? If you have never watched the movie, you should you watch it. The movie is very interesting. However, what a lot of people don’t realize is that the story was based on the real story. I’m so sad about it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *