My art

My name is Kimie. I’m from Japan. I was a graphic designer. I have made menus, flyers, and leaflets for many kinds of restaurant in Japan. But I quit my job, and now I’m trying to become a picture book writer. So, I’m practicing making stories and drawing.

How I am trying to become a picture book writer:

1) I participate in a picture book contest of a publisher every year. After making a picture book, I send my work to the contest. There are entries around 600 picture books in the contest. If I become No.1, I can be published.

The Crab and the Monkey, Japanese folk story.

2) I will present my work in the gallery. About 3 years ago, I showed my drawings in a gallery. If I am lucky, publishers will come and pick me out (scout me) as a picture book writer.

3) I try to make a lot of picture book stories for training. I try to go to a publisher for a presentation of my work.

Kimie, Pre-Intermediate B

[metaslider id=5153]

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

3 thoughts on “My art

  1. Kimie you are so talented I’m sure you will become famous in Japan, maybe you could make some stories in English?

    1. Thank you so much! Elaine!
      I hope so. I will not give up until become a picture book writer.
      And I want to make a story in English, but I have not made it yet.
      Making stories…, drawing…, and English…, I need to study more more more.
      kimie

  2. Lovely post, Kimie and what wonderful art work! Excellent! I would love to write a children’s book but I can’t draw AT ALL! All the best with your dream and your talent! Well done! Krystyna 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *