Cairns Botanic Gardens

This time, I’m going to introduce”Botanic Gardens” in Cairns, Australia.

There is beautiful nature and wildlife living there. We can go hiking in the gardens. There’re 4 walking tracks graded from easy to difficult. The tracks are called Red Arrow, Yellow Arrow, Blue Arrow and Green Arrow.

This time I chose to follow Blue Arrow which is a difficult one. The distance is 6 km and I needed 5 hours. I hiked with my friends. We started hiking at 10:30am. In the early stages, we saw a wallaby and a goanna. I was surprised because I’d seen them at the zoo only. The wallaby was cute and the goanna was moving in a funny way.

We had a rest many times. On the way, there was a nice scenery including the Cairns Airport. I watched some airplanes taking off.

We hiked in a circuit and the path was narrow and steep. Sometimes I was tired but we encouraged each other. The rain forest was very beautiful and listening to the flowing water was comfortable.

At 1:30 pm, we arrived at a turning point. The altitude was 325 m above sea level. The scenery was very beautiful. I felt a sense of achievement. We had some chocolate.

After we had a rest for about 20 to 30 minutes, we went down the hill. We chose to walk another path on the way back. We enjoyed a different atmosphere. We reached our goal at 3:30 pm. It was a very long trip for me but I was excited.

If you want to do exercise and be in nature, I recommend the Cairns Botanic Gardens. If you go there, don’t forget to bring water and a mosquito repellent spray.

Sayuri, Intermediate A

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “Cairns Botanic Gardens

  1. I read your great article! We share the same experience, because I went to the Cairns Botanic Gardens too. When I climbed the hill, I didn’t take any photos, but I remembered my feelings because of this blog post and your photos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *