My country is in trouble

I’m Japanese and my country has recently suffered a lot as Japan has had a lot of natural disasters.

I arrived in Cairns about 4 months ago. When I was in Japan, it was not that bad, but recently too many natural disasters have occurred.

First, a heavy rain was recorded in a wide area, mainly in western Japan, in July. My home town Mabi suffered a lot of damage due to it. Several levees broke down and there was a big flood. So many houses got inundated, including my house. The first floor of my house was safe, but the ground floor was flooded. My family lost a lot of furniture and appliances and they can’t live in the living room, so they are living in my room now. In the beginning, they couldn’t take a shower or cook a meal, but now is better than before. I hope everything will be ok for my town.

After the floods, a powerful typhoon hit in Japan in September. It landed in Japan with a very strong force for the first time in 25 years, and it caused great damage, especially in Kinki district repetition. Kansai International Airport was flooded at high tide, the terminal building was inundated and eventually closed due to power failure. A lot of houses suffered a blackout and transportation was disturbed.

After the typhoon swept the country, there was an earthquake in Hokkaido with a magnitude of 6.7. There weren’t so many earthquakes there until now. It surprised many Japanese people to see earthquakes happen there.

Japanese natural disasters are strange and I have a feeling something strange will happen. I worry about Japan. I hope everything will be OK for my country.

Amika, Intermediate Class

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

2 thoughts on “My country is in trouble

  1. I found out about it from the news.
    I hope the damage will be restored as soon as possible.
    Everything is going to be OK.
    I’m going to pray for Japan.

  2. Hi. I’m Yusaku. I’m Japanese too. Your article is so interesting.
    I came to Cairns 16 days ago.
    When I prepared to leave from Japan, the typhoon hit in Kinki, Japan.
    Then Kansai airport didsn’t work. Many people who booked their departure from Kansai airport transited through Narita airport.
    I had already booked my departure from Narita airport.
    I wanted to check my airplane information just before I left. But my travel agency couldn’t contact me for a while because many people had contacted my travel agency and they were so confused. I worried about my flight.
    I hope there are no more disasters in Japan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *