Did they say “right” or “light”?

Hello, my friend. Thank you for checking out my post. Today I’m writing about “pronunciation.”  It is as difficult for me as understanding a female mind. Just kidding!

Do you know “R” and “L” have  the same pronunciation in Japanese? So when Japanese people say  “light” and “right”, the words sound the same. I am always confused about pronunciation!

When I practiced pronunciation with my classmate Martina, she was always kinda laughing at me… I felt so embarrassed… If it was possible, I would like to forget it 😉

Now, I will give you some sentences to practice. Please check your pronunciation with your teacher.

1. The light on the right of his car is broken.

2. I will walk to work.

3. When I was nervous, I heard my heat beat hard.

4. He folded up his legs when he was holding a meeting.

5. Do you have any plans for the weekend ?

    Yes, I’m going to meet Mr.Meat.

6. When he read a long law, he sighed low.

7. He had to take a loan because he bought a big lawn.

8. Last night, we were walking on the curb and were trying to take a curve quickly.

9. She always locks her house with a rock.

10. My friend told me that bowling is boring.

How did you go with your pronunciation?

Jumpei, Intermediate A

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

3 thoughts on “Did they say “right” or “light”?

  1. That’s an interesting post for us. Actually, I’m getting better at pronouncing ‘r’ and ‘l’. However, I’m facing a new problem.
    I can’t pronounce ‘she’, ‘see’ and ‘sea’ also ‘to’, ‘too’ and ‘two’ ‘want’ and ‘won’t’ as well.
    Pronunciation is the biggest problem for us, isn’t it?

  2. I totally agree with you, Jumpei. It’s a serious problem for Japanese. I need to improve my pronunciation, especially “R”, “L” and “V”, “B”.
    “Rome was not build in a day.”
    We will never give up and we can make progress step by step.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *