Hot air balloon (Part 1)

When I was a child, I read a book about Alfred Wegener, a German geophysicist. He came up with the continental drift theory when he rode a hot air balloon. It was then when riding a balloon became my dream.

Last Sunday, I got up at 3:00 am. I drank a Red-Bull and ate a Snickers to get me out of bed. And I went to the meeting point with a water bottle, sunglasses, a hat and my phone. Because to ride a balloon, I needed to keep my luggage to a minimum as much as I could.

The sun was still asleep. The starry sky was shining. I waited for the shuttle bus while looking up at the beautiful night sky.

The bus went to Mareeba. It took about one hour. It was a very twisty road. My body was tossed around  like on a trolley Indiana Jones ride. I enjoyed this adventure.

Eventually the time to become an astronomer came! I looked forward to overlooking the horizon.

However, our bus just stopped at the bus station. We waited for the captain to give thumbs-up to our flight. Unfortunately, he didn’t  say “Go ahead” due to strong wind. My remarkable maiden flight was put off till after Easter holidays…

To be continued…!

PART 2 (coming soon)

Yuka Nozawa, Intermediate

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *