The first step is always the hardest

G’day mate! How ya’ going? I’m Yuri. I already graduated from CCEB in February this year. Now I’m working as a nursery teacher in Japan. I’m busy but I enjoy this job because I use the English I learned at CCEB. I teach English to children twice a week. Occasionally native speakers also come. I look forward to seeing the growth of our students every day.

Recently I was asked to give a presentation. I talked about my experiences in front of people who are going to go abroad. I told my audience about Australian life, school atmosphere, host family and share house, etc. I talked for about 30 minutes using PowerPoint. I tenjoyed reminiscing on my Cairns life. A a lot of memories came back and I couldn’t organize the story well but after the presentation, the audience asked me a lot of questions about Cairns. Some people won’t even go to Australia but they’re still interested in it. I was very happy that my experience helped somebody. In particular, there were many questions like “I’m worried because I can’t speak English.” When I came to Australia last April, I couldn’t speak English at all but everyone helped me. So I told them not to worry.

Finally I told everyone: “It’s not whether you can or can’t; it’s whether you will or won’t.” The first step is always the hardest but that one step changes the future. I was super happy to study in Cairns!

Yuri Akinaka

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *