Shop the frog

What is this green frog?

At a supermarket you can sometimes see a little frog on many products such as coffee, chocolate, tea, fruit, flowers… Why?

Well, the green frog represents sustainable, environmentally-friendly products which meet social and economic criteria. It is used as the symbol to ensure the welfare of workers and their families and of course to conserve wildlife.

It is important to choose the frog–labelled products, but in my country nobody knows about this… I think it is important to know that.

I discovered its meaning at Ecofiesta which was in Cairns.

Sheila, Pre-Intermediate B

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “Shop the frog

  1. I have seen the little frog in a supermarket. But I didn’t know the meaning of the symbol. I thought it just means a company’s trademark.
    My company sells various kinds of tools and machines. In the catalog, we can see the`eco` mark. If my customer doesn’t know which goods to choose, I recommend `eco` tools because they are environmentally-friendly. People should take more interest in the environment. I want to check the little frog again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *