Why everybody needs to be a teacher at least once

As I wrote in my last post: https://cceb.edublogs.org/2016/11/04/how-to-sleep-around-the-world-without-paying-anything/, last year I went to Thailand to do a volunteer job – which helped me a lot to save money. However, in addition to money I learned how is hard to be a teacher.

I remember as if it were yesterday that on my first day when I finished my job I had a headache. I was not upset, in fact the opposite I was pretty cheerful, but I felt like I had no energy.

When you are a teacher, different to most jobs, you never finish your job. Even if you go out of the school you need to think about the next day and prepare the next class for your students. You need to push yourself. Even being a teacher for a short time I realized that one of the best sensations when you are in front of the class is when you are able to see your students entertained with something that you brought to show them.

Being able to keep the attention of a class is not child’s play. It looks easy when you are a student however when you are in front of so many people trying to do your best even though a student persist in not paying attention. This kind of situation would bring anyone down, because only you know how much time you spent mulling it over and preparing the class.

When you are a teacher you need to look out for your students and consequently this means that you have a lot of power in your hands. You have the power to shape the future of a person which is a big responsibility but also an enormous pleasure.

To put it in a nutshell, throughout my journey as teacher I was able to learn something new each day. Even though a hard work when I needed to say goodbye to my students I wondered to myself in the future when they become adults if they will remember me in a positive way. I hope so. I think everybody at least once should have this kind of experience at least once in their lives. I am sure that the empathy and respect for professors will be much more acknowledged if everyone had this background.

And do you think a teacher has power to shape anyone?

Debora Komukai, Upper-Intermediate

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

3 thoughts on “Why everybody needs to be a teacher at least once

  1. Debora, you did a lot of things.

    I’d like to do a volunteer job if I can teach something to children.

    I’m proud of you.

    I really enjoy your posts.

    Thank you.

  2. Wow, I had no idea you had taught before Debora. This was a really interesting read, it must have been quite the experience. I definitely agree that a teacher has the power to shape students, and hopefully it’s for the better.
    I’m sure that your experience in that role is what helped shape you to be such a great student also, well done!

  3. I did volunteer work at a kinder garden in the Gold Coast 2 years ago. So I’m very interested in your blog even though it was different kind of volunteering.
    Looking after children is not an easy job. So I’m so proud of you that you did some teaching!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *