Cockatoo tree

Of all the birds, I most like the true Parrot. Most of my photos are of Cockatoos and Parrots. We can see the highest number of species of Cockatoos and Parrots and Lories in Australia in the world. Different Cockatoos, Parrots and Lories are so important for me, but I’ll write only about the Sulphur-crested Cockatoo (Cacatua galerita) here.

The Sulphur-crested Cockatoo (Cacatua galleria).

What kind of Christmas tree did you see last year? I am living in a share-house in Cairns now, I don’t have a Christmas tree (I also don’t have one my country). I started liking a Christmas tree ever since I came to Cairns. This photo is of the tree in the daytime. Probably, you think it’s only a dead tree or just a tree.

However, the tree’s appearance changes from evening to night. Cockatoos fly to the tree as if they have appeared out of thin air, and finally, the Cockatoo tree has been completed about 30 mins later. I still remember that I said “I have only one Christmas tree in this country!”.

I saw it on full moon night. It would be fun to be near as the light usually interferes with it, but their silhouette ridge is clearly seen during a full moon. It was a cloudy day when I took the photos but it creates a peculiar atmosphere.

This place was used about 5 years ago and now it’s not, and my friends and I think that we won’t be able see this scenery for a long time. Plus, the place is a little far from the city and might be dangerous at night.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank my friends from the bottom of my heart. I really appreciate that you went there with me to make me happy even though it was late at night, thank you Y.O. and S.W.

I went on a trip with my friend Cockatoo and true Parrot searching for real Christmas. My friends and Cockatoos made me smile so much that my face was sore the following day. We could watch the birds putting on a show, mating and nest building.

I can’t write about this place because it is an important place for birds, but if you want to see them, you can go search for them and this trip will be a lot of fun.

I hope you have a good year as well.

Hitomi Abe, Pre-Intermediate B

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

4 thoughts on “Cockatoo tree

  1. I love Cockatoos’ silhouettes. They’re too cute! I wanna sit on that tree branch with them
    I’m looking forward to going bird watching with you. <3
    The bird's tree is amazing. Thank you for uploading your lovely photos.

    1. Hi, Manami !
      Thank you for liking my photos!
      You looked as if you really enjoyed our trip to the Cockatoo tree. I’m happy that you did. This place is really dangerous if you go only by yourself in the evening or at night. If you want to go again, could you call your friends? I hope you have a happy Cockatoos life 😉

  2. Very nice pictures of the Cockatoo tree. Also I like the photograps of these beautiful animals. Where can I see them in Cairns?

    1. Hi, Roman.
      Thank you for your comment.
      Sorry. I can’t write you the exact address here but if you want to see them, you should try to go to “Raintrees Shopping Centre” in Cairns.
      Have a good time 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *