About a trip to Uluru in Aussie slang

As it was Australia Day not long ago and in order to practise their story-telling skills, the students of Intermediate A were asked to create a story with Australian slang words in it (in bold print). Below is Marina and Fumi’s presentation. Read the conversation and see if you can make sense of their story as the girls included a lot of slang in it, hahaha! (use the PowerPoint presentation to help you).

M:  G’day Fumi. How ya goin’?

F: Yeah, I’m good and yourself?? How was your weekend?

M: I went on a trip to Uluru with my bloke in a ute.

F: Excellent! How was your way to Uluru?

M: While I was driving, I saw a boomer and a joey. What a beaut!  And we went to Macca’s all the time because there was no dunny available anywhere at all.

F: Sound’s good.

M: How about you? Did you have a nice weekend?

F: Yes, I had a fun weekend!! I went to the Lagoon and had a barbie with mate. We ate some snags and kangaroo meat for tea. We also took some beer and wine in an esky and as you can imagine, we drank a lot of grog.

M: I wish I was there. Did you go for you swim there?

F: Of course! I changed into my cozzies and then was swimming all day. Now, I got sunburn and I’m going to buy some relief cream . Next time I’ll invite you to come with us.

M:  Thanks mate. Have a good arvo Fumi.

F: Ta! See ya mate!

Fumi & Marina, Intermediate A

[embeddoc url=”https://cceb.edublogs.org/files/2017/02/FUMI-MARINA-2g2r9t2.pptx” download=”all” viewer=”microsoft”]

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “About a trip to Uluru in Aussie slang

  1. Congratulations Marina and Fumi! It was a really good and funny presentation. You two used a lot of Australian slang in a funny way!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *