Bats… beautiful and dangerous creatures?

Flying foxes in Cairns

On this occasion, I will talk about bats. Why did I choose this topic? Well, three weeks ago I was walking to one of the Cairns City Bus Station’s platforms. I was in a hurry because dinner time was approaching, so I hadn’t paid attention to the strange noise coming from the trees. Maybe my subconsciousness got it like sounds coming from birds.

But suddenly, my curiosity caused me to look up. I couldn’t believe what my eyes saw… beautiful bats flying over me towards the north. It was absolutely amazing for me! In my hometown is not common to see bats on the trees of the city.

Where I live, only this phenomenon occurs when birds are looking for a refuge on the trees in the sunset.

That’s why I decided to look a little bit into this topic. First of all, they are frugivorous and according to information obtained from the Cairns and Far North Environment Centre’s website, these ‘flying-foxes’ belong to Pteropus conspicillatus species, and are famous for the straw-coloured fur which surrounds their eyes.

Because we now know these beautiful bats won’t suck our blood, we have to protect them as they contribute to maintain a healthy ecosystem where other organisms (including us) live. In spite of this, if we find a fallen bat, we shouldn’t touch it, because it could carry bacteria and/or viruses; or we could damage it. Instead of that, we must call a qualified person.

So, remember… love them like teddy bears, but do not cuddle them.

Abigail, Upper-Intermediate

*Main photo by Dave Pinson

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “Bats… beautiful and dangerous creatures?

  1. Hi Abigail
    Your post is very interesting!! Before I read it, I hated them because they are smelly and too noisy. But now since I read your article, I’ve changed my mind. I didn’t know that they maintain a healthy ecosystem. Thanks for teaching me about them. From now, I can be more tolerant about them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *