My trip to the Great Wall of China

I went there when I was 13 years old. It was autumn, but not very cool. The Great Wall is a place with a long history; it was used to keep the enemy away in the past, and it has now turned into an attraction.

It is such an amazing place! Before I went there, I had heard that there were different spots you could see in different seasons, like green forest in summer, the red maple leaves in fall, and white snow covered on the ground in winter.

When I stood on the wall, I could see the whole scenery of the mountain, and there were many maple trees on the hill. Because it was autumn, the maple was extremely red, so when I looked them, they seemed on fire.
My brother and I had a race on the Great Wall. It was so rough because the grade of slope was so steep, and the roads were not very flat. We spent all day on the wall which was so long, and we couldn’t reach the end of it. We took a lot of pictures and also picked some maple leaves as souvenirs.

The only drawback is that there were too many people there, and as a result it was extremely crowded. I could hardly see my parents. And I saw some words carved on the wall by people who wanted a proof of their visit. I didn’t like the carvings because it damages the Wall.

The trip was totally fun, and I enjoyed the tour very much. It was a really good place for people who want to know more about the rich culture of China. But don’t forget to prepare your lunch before you go because the meals there were very expensive.

Brooks, Upper-Intermediate B

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “My trip to the Great Wall of China

  1. Brooks,

    thank you for this recommendation and useful information. We are going to visit your amazing country probably at the end this year. I hope that we will have enough time for this absolutely impressive and very famous landmark in China.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *