Customs in Japan

In Japan, when we meet someone who is older than us, we usually use “Keigo” and have to bow.

This is a polite behaviour to show respect for that person.  This can change depending on people and situation. My parents and teacher taught me that when I was in elementary school. It is difficult even for me. We must always use “Keigo” at work to show respect. However, I think that other languages do not have respectful customs.

Now I’ll write about religion in Japan.

People in other parts of the world usually only have one religion but most Japanese people have two religions: Shinto and Buddhism. I think it is a very particular culture in Japan.

Shinto is the most traditional religion in Japan. It is based on the belief that there’s God’s presence in everything. It is three thousand years old. After that, Buddhism came to Japan and it has spread widely since the seventh century.

People used to believe in each religion separately a long time ago but nowadays some people say they believe in a mix of the two religions and others say they have no religion at all.

Actually, I also do not believe in any religion fully.  My family is Buddhist so my grandfather had a Buddhist funeral 5 days ago but we usually go to a Shinto shrine on New Year’s Eve to pray “Hope for a good year”. That is very strange!

Mika, Upper-Intermediate A

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *