I’m a Kendo girl

My name is Yako and I’m from Japan.

I have 3 dan in Kendo. Do you know kendo? I’ve been doing Kendo for 12 years. Kendo is a traditional sports in Japan. We use a bamboo sword and we wear a faceguard, a chest protector and padded mittens. Kendo looks like fencing, but the protectors are very heavy.  In addition, kendokas  have a Samurai soul , so courtesy is a very important thing for us.

Kendo begins and ends with bowing. Therefore I learned a lot of things such as we have to respect our elders and try to get better.  We have a grateful heart for teachers, parents, and opponents.

Kendo is more world famous than before. However, it is not an Olympic games discipline yet. I think kendo is a very interesting sport because we can do that at any age. Actually my Kendo teacher was 90 years old. So I want to teach Kendo for a lot of people in Australia, and I hope that kendo will become an Olympic game.

Yako, Intermediate Class

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “I’m a Kendo girl

  1. Hi, Yako. I read your article with pleasure. I wanted to try kendo again after reading it.
    Actually, my father used to learn kendo when I was young so I had a chance to experience it.
    You said that you had a grateful heart for teachers, parents, and opponents, and I agree with you.
    We can learn not only physical but also mental strength.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *