How I became an Open Water Diver

Hi, I’m Shunichi.

I like cycling. I used to go cycle touring on every long vacation. I went cycling and enjoyed doing it inland Japan. However, I have begun to feel bored with cycling recently, so I want to see a new world such as in the ocean. This is the reason why I did an Open Water course and got my certification on Nov 26, 2017.

Have you heard of Open Water Diver course? It is the most popular as a course to learn about scuba diving. If you want to get an Open Water Diver qualification, you have to follow a few steps. In addition, it is necessary to be able to float for 10 minutes and swim 200 meters. It was very difficult for me because I’m not good at swimming. There is a big problem if you can’t do it.

Step 1

Firstly, I learned some basic knowledge about how to behave in the water and use the equipment. I felt these were not too difficult. However, these were very important so that I wouldn’t risk my life. Of course, I worked seriously.

Step 2

Secondly, I practiced basic scuba skills at a depth of around 3 meters in the pool. At the beginning, I couldn’t open my eyes in the water but I was able to do it eventually. Maybe I struggled because there were a lot of things to do at the same time for example check the amount of remaining air, what I had to worry about. These were more important than the fear of opening my eyes in the water.

Step 3

Finally, I tested my skills under the sea. I learned mainly how to deal with critical situations. At the bottom of the sea, I have to make a decision finally only by myself. Thanks to the training, I could enjoy the mysterious world safely in spite of facing a potential danger.

This article doesn’t include any marine photos. If you want to see what’s in the ocean, you have to do the Open Water Diver course. It will definitely give you an amazing experience.

Shunichi, Intermediate Class

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *