My trip to Uluru

I went to Uluru from 25th to 27th February with Takashi. I decided to go there a month before. When I talked with Takashi, he said “I’m going on a trip around Australia and I’ll go to Uluru”. I thought I wanted to go to Uluru, too!! So, I decided to follow Takashi because I felt stressed about my English. I thought “If I go to Uluru, it might change something!”

I left for Uluru on 25th February. When I arrived at Ayers Rock Airport, I felt the dry wind which was different from the one in Cairns. I went to a camel ranch before I joined the Kata Tjuta tour because I had some free time. There were many camels there. I didn’t know that Australia has the highest number of wild camels in the world. I rode camels for $10. They’re very cute and gentler than horses. While I was riding the camels, I secretly touched the hump of my camel. It was soft and it made me very happy.

In the evening I joined the tour and went to Kata Tjuta with Takashi. (Takashi flew in from Sydney, so we met at the hotel.) We climbed the Kata Tjuta which was hard for me only, because it was a rough and rocky place but beautiful at the same time.

Then we moved to a site where Uluru and the setting sun looked beautiful. It was fantastic and so romantic!! And at night we ate dinner under the starry sky. I ate a kangaroo steak for the first time and it was yummy. After dinner we lay down on the roadside and observed the starry sky with our tour guide. I had never seen such a beautiful starry sky in Japan. I was really excited and I will never forget it!

We went to Kings Canyon the next day. We had to wake up at 3:30am because our hotel and Kings Canyon were about 300 km away. We almost didn’t sleep at all. The famous Japanese movie “Sekaino-chusinde-aiwosakebu” was shot in Kings Canyon and every Japanese person knows this place.

On the last day we went to Uluru where we saw some Aboriginal sacred ground. If it wasn’t for some strong winds blowing, we would have been able to climb Uluru. The probability of climbing Uluru is only about three days a month.

The trip was very fun and exciting and my only bad memory was the flies. There were many flies there. We had to wear the nets because the flies were trying to come into our nostrils, mouths and anywhere they could. I was really disgusted.

Yoshiho, Intermediate B

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

5 thoughts on “My trip to Uluru

  1. That’s great!! Uluru is very beautiful and huge. I really want to go there and I want to ride camels.

  2. It is such a great trip! I am interested in World Heritage. I think Uluru is a wonderful World Heritage site. So, I want to go to Uluru sometime although it’s so far from Cairns.

  3. I really wanted to go to Uluru!! But I couldn’t go there because I spent a lot of money in Cairns. Now I want to ask myself why hadn’t I saved any money but I think I’m probably coming back to Australia so I’m going to Uluru definitely!!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *