Have you been to Port Douglas?

My share mate told me about the festival in Port Douglas so I went there with my boyfriend. On Saturday we went to Port by a rental car with another couple and we came back by taxi on Sunday. It takes about 1 hour from Cairns city to Port Douglas but Sunbus doesn’t run in this area so we can only use rental cars, taxis or private buses. If you want to go, I recommend hiring a rental car because it is the cheapest transportation.

The town has so many restaurants, souvenir shops, clothes shops and the sea. The name of the festival is Port Douglas Carnival and was held from Friday to Sunday. When we arrived there, the fireworks and parade had already finished. Therefore we couldn’t enjoy any of this and I thought we should have checked the details before we went.
However, this town is a really nice place even without the festival. We stayed at Oaks Lagoons hotel, which is very clean, big, has the pool, and it was very cheap on top of that so we were lucky.

We took a shuttle bus from the hotel to town for only 5 dollars. On Saturday we ate seafood and steaks and on Sunday we ate pot sticker and chicken. Every dish was really delicious.
I had a special weekend with my boyfriend because we walked along the beach and had yummy food together!!!

Aoi, Upper-Intermediate

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “Have you been to Port Douglas?

  1. That’s a great weekend!
    I’m glad to see you happy
    And I want go there
    I wish that you could continue your good relationships with your boyfriend;)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *