The reason why I left my fancy life

Dec 2017 new line of base makeup launch party

In Taiwan I was in my comfort zone.  I worked for a cosmetics manufacturer as a public relations officer for eight years. The job I had was very good and I had lots of fun. I had to arrange press conferences when new products were going to be launched and I invited many famous people or influencers to join our conferences or parties I hosted.

Also, I had to arrange photo shoots for magazines. Working with professional photographers and professional models was very interesting.

Jan 2018 press conference about a new line of foundation products

Sometimes I had business trips, about twice per year. Usually I went to Japan. The business trips were also lots of fun. We invited some influencers to go Japan to join new product launch parties; therefore I was eating in smart restaurants or staying in good hotels with them, too. All I needed to do was to maintain a good relationship with influencers.

Jan 2017 photo shoot in cooperation with ELLE magazine

But still I resigned from the good job that I had, and came to Cairns to study English. Finally, I left my comfort zone. I realized if you stay in your comfort zone, you will not be able to grow up, and you will never be able to make progress.

Living in Cairns is not as fancy as living in Taiwan. Unlike Taiwan, Cairns doesn’t have so much entertainment or convenience. But it is quite a good place for studying English. However, the reason I came to Cairns is to improve myself, so it doesn’t matter whether the life is worse or better in a country or city. The most important thing is why I’m here.

Alice, Intermediate

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

One thought on “The reason why I left my fancy life

  1. I think that your decision was very brave. Most people prefer to stay in their comfort zone because they are afraid. Society tells us that it better to have a steady job instead of living new experiences. However, you left your job to accept the challenge and improve your English.

    I feel hopeful that you”ll achieve your aim because you have already made the first step.
    Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *