Lest We Forget

April 25 is a big day. I joined the Anzac Day ceremony. It was my first time. I woke up at 4:30am. When I came to the ceremony at 5:20, the sky was very dark and everyone was speaking very quietly. The ceremony started at 5:30, I saw no one using a cell phone. I was so surprised. A lot of people gave speeches during the ceremony. Suddenly, I heard the horn ringing. It was a trumpet. A girl was playing the trumpet. The song is called THE LAST POST.

When the service finished, a lot of people took pictures in front of the monument. I saw an old man sitting in the wheelchair. He put down a flower in front of the monument. I asked him, “Can I take a picture with you?” He said yes and he told me his story, but I couldn’t understand what he said. I just understood some words like ‘machine gun’ and ‘hard work’. I imagine he was talking about the war. During WW2, a lot of people died. It’s terrible. Lest We Forget!

Darren, Pre-Intermediate

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About CCEB

We are teachers and students at the Cairns College of English and Business (CCEB). How lucky are we to work and study in the Australian Wet Tropics with the world's oldest rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef at our doorstep! We would like to share our happy posts with the world! Welcome to the CCEB space eveyone.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *